Management Structure and Committees

The organisational structure of IMMUNOSABR is based on the best practices of international research projects, ensuring clear lines of responsibility and efficiency while enhancing collaboration and coherence. With more than a dozen Consortium and WP coordinators of FP6 and FP7 projects, as well as of IMI funded projects, and with all partners having IMMUNOSABR been active in one or more FP7 funded projects, the consortium harbours an extensive collective expertise and experience in the management and operations of FP funded projects. The management structure of IMMUNOSABR involves the following decision-making, advisory and executive bodies: a Steering Committee (SC), Management Team (MT), Project Management Office (PMO), Work Package Leaders (WPLs) for each of the five WPs, and three advisory boards including a Scientific Advisory Board (SAB), Dissemination and Exploitation Advisory Board (DEAB), and the Ethical Advisory Board (EAB), as depicted in Figure 1. 

Steering Committee (SC) 

The SC is the highest decision-making body in IMMUNOSABR. The SC by default consists of one representative of each of the 17 beneficiaries that have acceded to the IMMUNOSABR EC Grant Agreement and is chaired the Project Coordination (PC) of IMMUNOSABR, Prof. Philippe Lambin MD PhD. Prof. Lambin, who will be the formal Coordinator of IMMUNOSABR. The SC will oversee the project’s progress and provide a forum for discussions on the strategic orientation and development of the project and the decision-making on issues on strategic-project level. As the highest hierarchical body, the SC has the sole authority to decide on issues that necessitate changes in the EC Grant Agreement (in consultation with the European Commission) and/or the IMMUNOSABR Consortium Agreement. This includes decisions on issues such as (but not limited to) changes in the Consortium (new partners, replacement of partners), changes in the overall objectives or approach of IMMUNOSABR, conflicts between partners, changes in partners’ budgets, or changes in the composition of the Management Bodies.

Decision-making in SC: Each project partner will have one representative and one vote in the SC. SC members will be required to have the authority to make decisions on behalf of their respective organisations, or clarify the relevant line management. Two thirds of the project partners attending a SC meeting will constitute a quorum. Simple majority of the attendants will be sufficient for decision adoption, except in those cases when a unanimous decision is required by the Commission procedures. In the event of a tied vote, the PC (as chair) will have an additional vote. SC meetings will be regularly held twice per year, in Q2 (teleconference) in Q4 (annual on-site meeting). During the meetings, progress of IMMUNOSABR, financial issues and problems encountered will be discussed and major decisions will be taken, as described above. This will be based on quarterly progress reports (see Figure 2). 

Project Coordinator

  • Prof. Philippe Lambin MD PhD, ERC advanced grant laureate 

Project Manager

Work Package Leaders

  • Prof. Philippe Lambin MD PhD (MUMC+; WP1 and WP6)
  • Dr. Leonardo Giovannoni (PG, WP2)
  • Prof. Anne Marie Dingemans MD PhD (MUMC+; WP3)
  • ir. Ralph Leijenaar (HIV; WP4)
  • Prof. Sine Hadrup (DTU; WP5).

Scientific Advisory Board (SAB) 

  • Prof. Laurence Zitvogel, Paris, France
  • Prof. Sandra Demaria, New York, United States
  • Prof. Suresh Senan, VU Amsterdam, the Netherlands